A Mother’s Love Knows No Bounds…


As I swayed and rocked….bounced and patted….sang and shhhhh’d…but still to no avail I was instantly cast back in time when my older children were teething and like a bolt of lightning I remembered….THIS WAS THE HARD PART! Those big fat crocodile tears roll down those chubby little cheeks and my heart clenches in agony. I have applied liberal amounts of teething gel and tablets and still it barely puts a dent to the paint they are enduring. Most grown people couldn’t fathom the pain that these tiny beings endure to bring new teeth in. Of course as adults we all whine and cry about our wisdom teeth…and have a hard time imagining having that pain continuously for about five years. So as I watch these sweet little babies fuss and cry and nothing I do soothes them…I keep the thought first and for most in my mind and push irritation aside…those tiny little bones are pushing through their skin in their mouths…the least I can do is rock them through it.

The hardest part of being a parent is watching  your children in pain. I thought back to my labors and I tried to put myself in my mothers position. Watching her child endure extreme pain to bring new  life…that is just unimaginable to me…yet she did…she held me through each pain (along with my husband) and cried with me as it became unbearable. Of course you can’t really liken teething to child birth but it’s in the same gray area…you can only watch your child suffer as nature takes its course.

And so i rocked my baby and felt his little body shake and shudder through sniffled little cries and took a moment to give a huge prayer of thanks for the wonderful mother the good Lord has blessed me with. Through her courage I have learned that although you can’t take that pain away…just being there and holding them through it means the world. I am not sure if I ever thanked my mother for the

A mother’s love knows no bounds…

strength she lent me as I pushed my children screaming into this world. If I did not…momma…I am saying it now…I could search the world over to find a way to thank you for all you have done for me and I will NEVER find the perfect words. All I can do is tell you that you make me proud to call you my mother. You make me proud to be a mother…for through you I have learned courage.

 

Leave a Reply

