The Lack of Sleep is Liberating….Really it is…


Image

I have repeated this mantra in my head for the last two hours as my youngest son watches the everrepeated Despicable Me.It is in these moments…the by God wee early morning moments…that I ponder the unanswered question…why do babies fight sleep? Surely studies around the world have come up with some sort of theory. As Liam literally growls at the television to keep himself awake I wonder…does it really take FULL adulthood for it to sink in that sleep is GOOD? If I could pray for one thing (okay…besides the cure for AIDS and the end to world hunger) it would be that there is a way to help babies understand that it is okay to sleep. Really….you won’t miss a thing. Nothing THAT exciting is going to happen at 5:00 a.m. I promise. 

6:00 a.m. rolls around and still baby boy is growling and laughing desperately fighting to stay awake. It would be almost comical where it not for my bleary and sleep deprived mind reminding me that in less that thirty minutes the entire house will be awake and then….then….there is NO chance that I can catch a few winks until the twins are napping. Which won’t be until about….11:30. Because as sure as God has made little green apples (yeah…we really say that down here in the south) she is going to be bright eyed and wanting her Despicable Me too. 

I try to find solace in the thought that eventually…they will go to sleep. But right now all I can do is perk ANOTHER pot of coffee and pray my sanity holds.  For all you scientist out there….PLEASE answer my question. Why do babies fight sleep! Every mother on the planet wants to know!!

Leave a Reply

